Can-DESyNe will operate distinctly from Genome Canada by administration through a newly created SynBio Centre of Innovation and Entrepreneurship (CIE). The CIE, National Synthetic Biology Steering Committee, Genome Canada Enterprise and key Partners will define the governance necessary for transparent and fair decision-making for project selection and IP ownership.

National Synthetic Biology Steering Committee 

  • Dr. Bettina Hamelin, President and CEO, Ontario Genomics (Chair) - BIO

  • Dr. Vincent Martin, Director, Centre for Applied Synthetic Biology, Concordia University - BIO  

  • Dr. Peter Zandstra, Director, Michael Smith Laboratories, University of British Columbia - BIO

  • Dr. Keith Pardee, Canada Research Chair in Synthetic Biology and Human Health, University of Toronto - BIO 

  • Dr. Roman Szumski, VP Life Sciences, National Research Council - BIO  

  • Dr. Doane Chilcoat, Leader, Applied Science and Technology at Corteva Agriscience - BIO  

  • Andrew Casey, President and CEO, BIOTECanada - BIO  

  • Dr. Krishna Mahadevan, Professor, University of Toronto - BIO  



Benefits include leading or participating in
projects, accessing customers, technology partners &
academic experts, and leveraging your investment dollars.


MaRS Centre, West Tower 661 University Avenue, Suite 490, Toronto, ON M5G 1M1  |  416-977-9582

©2019 by CAN-DESyNe. Proudly created with